Read more than 3450 articles & interviews, see phantastic pictures of Live shows & other snapshots


Read Forum-Article


Taken from Ultimate Classic Rock (May 28, 2021)

New 'Beatles and India' Film to Include Album of Interpretations

by Allison Rapp

Silva Screen Productions, Renoir Pictures
Silva Screen Productions, Renoir Pictures

A new documentary called The Beatles in India will center on the band's spiritual and creative connection with the country. There will also be a companion album of Beatles songs interpreted by Indian artists.

The movie is set to premiere in the U.K. on June 6, while the LP, titled The Beatles and India: Songs Inspired by the Film, will follow in the fall.

Each album track was either inspired by the Beatles' 1968 visit to India or other era-specific songs related to the country. Songs include "Child of Nature," "Sexy Sadie" and "Dear Prudence."

You can hear the first single, a cover of John Lennon's 1980 song "India, India" performed by singer Nikhil D'Souza, below.

The film is codirected by Ajoy Bose, author of Across the Universe - The Beatles in India, and cultural researcher Pete Compton and features rarely seen archival footage, photographs, recordings, eyewitness accounts, expert comments and on-location shoots across India.

The Beatles' 1968 journey to India was also documented last year in Meeting the Beatles in India, a feature from Emmy-winning filmmaker Paul Saltzman, who had traveled to India and met the group there.

You can view the track listing for the upcoming album below.

'The Beatles and India: Songs Inspired by the Film' Track Listing
01. "Tomorrow Never Knows" - Kissnuka
02. "Mother Nature's Son" - Karsh Kale / Benny Dayal
03. "Gimme Some Truth" - Soulmate
04. "Across The Universe" - Tejas / Maalavika Manoj
05. "Everybody's Got Something To Hide (Except Me And My Monkey)" - Rohan Rajadhyaksha
06. "I Will" - Shibani Dandekar
07. "Julia" - Dhruv Ghanekar
08. "Child Of Nature" - Anupam Roy
09. "The Inner Light" - Anoushka Shankar / Karsh Kale
10. "The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill" - Raaga Trippin
11. "Back In The USSR" - Karsh Kale / Farhan Ahktar
12. "I'm So Tired" - Lisa Mishra
13. "Sexy Sadie" - Siddharth Basrur
14. "Martha My Dear" - Nikhil D'Souza
15. "Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)" - Parekh & Singh
16. "Revolution" - Vishal Dadlani
17. "Love You To" - Dhruv Ghanekar
18. "Dear Prudence" - Karsh Kale / Monica Dogra
19. "India, India "- Nikhil D'Souza


Read Forum-Article


Check out my latest Playlist

Get external player here


Latest News
  Last Update: 2022-05-19 09:42


News Selector